Some people believe that mental training, such as building self-confidence, is more important for sportspeople than physical training. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

In most cases, it seems that sportspersons give more priority to building mental strength than physical training. I completely concur that creating a strong mentality could help a person to solve the hardest things, motivating himself, and sometimes it can enhance fitness or help to recover from injuries.

To begin with, mentality plays a paramount role in a person along with physical fitness. Holding strong mindset can motivate the individual to play the game in his best way. To illustrate, football is a game where physical stability and mindset are needed to win. In 2022, Saudi Arabia beat Argentina in a group stage game due to their strong mindset, whereas Argentina had more skilled and talented players.

In addition, if a person has only physical appearance, he might face hardship in the game. Without holding mentality, the person could experience some detrimental effects on his fitness. A strong desire to win the competition would create some merits on the body, like recover from injuries as soon as possible or play with injuries. For instance, Leo Messi played in the 2022 FIFA World Cup and won it with having a leg injury. Moreover, he scored 13 goals and made 12 assists,making him the best player of the year and a Ballon d’Or winner.

However, physical appearance is also a vital thing to a player because without it. The person could not think about being a sportsman. Furthermore, some categories of sports require strong fitness. As a result, to keep fit, the person should follow a diet, maintain his sleep, and contiune his physical training with mental training.

To sum it up, I consider that while physical trainings facilitate a person to win, mental training can make a great contribution to the game who have both.