Some people believe that modern technology is making us more isolated. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

When it comes to a conversation about pros and cons of current innovations in the digital sphere, there is a growing concern which is based on the way people communicate with each other now. Regarding the impact of online-chatting and video calls it is widely believed that this type of relations brings to the feeling of isolation. It is commonly accepted that online communities cannot replace offline contacts fully, by the way modern technology sometimes can improve the sense of belonging.

An interesting perspective on this topic could be found in the sphere of cognitive studies. Human-beings as all animals always need physical contact with fellows. The primary reason for this can be attributed to the biological necessity of being in a group surrounded by family or friends. Indeed, one can have a video call with a grandmother but it is not the same as spilling tea with her the tea in the kitchen. Thus, keeping in touch with messengers probably provides the illusion of quality communication however and at the same time feeling of isolation steadily increases.

On the other hand, there is another critical point to highlight and it is the fact that sometimes online communication is not one of the options, it is the only option. This can be largely attributed to the reality when lots of people live far away from their parental family or they should change the city in order to achieve a better career. During the COVID-19 period statistics indicated that bonds between people are the most crucial part of mental stability and general well-being. In other words, to chat through digital services is much better than losing previous relations at all. Consequently, in some cases modern technologies may protect from loneliness.

To sum up, using only online communication can bring to isolation because of construction of human’s brain. Nevertheless, without messengers and with the same level of mobility and the tendency of people constantly changing their location will suffer much more from losing important contacts.