Some people believe that more academic subjects such as chemistry, physics and history should be taught in schools, while others believe that students will drive more benefits from studying practical subjects, such as motor mechanics, electricity engineering or cooking. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is believed by some that school should focus more on academic subjects like chemistry, physics and history, while other believed it is essential for students to gain knowledge on more practical based subjects like motor mechanics and cooking. I am of the opinion that schools should focus on both type of subjects, academical as well as practical based.

To start with, subjects like chemistry, physics and history ignite skills like critical thinking, problem solving, understanding the world. Chemistry and physics encourage students to use logical thinking, develop analytical skills. Furthermore, they also help students approach problems methodically and creatively. These provide students with insights into natural world and the physics that governs the universe. A solid foundation in these can foster innovation and contribution in fields like medicine, engineering and environmental sciences. Subjects like history provides context of current events and allows students to develop a deep appreciation for different cultures.

Meanwhile, having knowledge about practical subjects like motor mechanics and cooking will give students a stepping stone in everyday basic living. Practice of these subjects will help give the students an easy transition from childhood into adulthood. Additionally, these subjects act as life skills and will follow students into their adulthood giving them a smooth day to day lifestyle outside of work. Aside from reasons like these, practical learning can also help invoke creative interests which will branch out career options for them.

To conclude, having subjects that belong to both academic and practical learning gives students better insights about being able to decide their futures. Having knowledge of chemistry and biology may help students learn more about nutrition while will help them in practical learning, being able to cook nutritious and well-balanced meals.