Some people believe that more academic subjects such as chemistry, physics and history should be taught in schools, while others believe that students will drive more benefits from studying practical subjects, such as motor mechanics, electricity engineering or cooking. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is often argued whether schools should place a greater emphasis on academic subjects or practical ones. In my opinion, educational institutions should make an effort to strike a balance between both types of courses

On the one hand, it is understandable why some demand more practical subjects to be integrated into the school curriculum. Firstly, not every student excels academically, so practical courses can spark their interest in other professions such as motor mechanics or cooks. As a result, these students are less likely to play truant or drop out of school as they now have other options in terms of careers thanks to these courses. Additionally, practical subjects can equip students with necessary skills for everyday life situations, ranging from cooking to changing a tire. Without such classes, students would have great difficulty navigating real life after graduation.

However, I would argue that academic knowledge still plays a crucial role in one’s life regardless of their career choices. By solving complex questions of physics and mathematics, learners can acquire logical thinking skills and the ability to make better decisions in life based on factual information and sound reasoning. Furthermore, education should not be seen just as a means to employment but also a means to discover the world around us. In this aspect, academic subjects, such as physics and biology, can afford us the opportunity to learn about the complexities of the universe or the intricacies of the human body.

In conclusion, while practical education is beneficial to students, especially those who are not interested in an academic path, academic courses are just as important because they allow us to think logically and make sense of the world that we are living in.