Some people believe that more academic subjects such as chemistry, physics and history should be taught in schools, while others believe that students will drive more benefits from studying practical subjects, such as motor mechanics, electricity engineering or cooking. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is believed by some that schools should focus more on academic subjects like chemistry, physics and history, while others believe it is essential for students to gain knowledge in more practical subjects like motor mechanics and cooking. I am of the opinion that schools should focus on both subjects, academical and practical.

To start with, subjects like chemistry, physics, and history ignite skills like critical thinking, problem-solving, and understanding the world. Chemistry and physics encourage learners to use logical thinking and develop analytical skills. Furthermore, they also help in approaching problems methodically and creatively. These provide learners with insights into the natural world and the physics that governs the universe. A solid foundation can foster innovation and contribution in fields like medicine, engineering, and environmental science. Subjects like history provide context for current events and allow students to develop a deep appreciation for different cultures.

Meanwhile, having knowledge about practical subjects like motor mechanics and cooking will give students a stepping stone in everyday basic living. Practice of these subjects will help give them an easy transition from childhood to adulthood. Additionally, these subjects act as life skills and will follow students into their adulthood, giving them a smooth day-to-day lifestyle outside of work. Aside from reasons like these, practical learning can also help invoke creative interests, which will branch out career options for them.

To conclude, having subjects that belong to both academic and practical learning gives learners better insight into being able to decide their futures. Having knowledge of chemistry and biology may help students learn more about nutrition which will help them in practical learning, being able to cook nutritious and well-balanced meals.