Some people believe that no homework should be given to children. Others, however, say that extra work is needed after school for children and teenagers in order to succeed. Discuss both the views and give your opinion.

Traditionally being an important part of education, homework has recently been as a topic of wide discussion among parents and educators. While some people argue that any additional work outside classroom is not necessary, I support those who believe that it greatly contributes to education success.

On the one hand, the opponents of homework cite a number of key disadvantages of homework assignments. Thus, if students did not have any homework, this would enable them to allocate more time to extracurricular activities, such as sports or arts, which would bring as much benefit to children in their everyday life. It is believed that school curricula today may have become excessively difficult for students, and they need more free time for mental relaxation. Moreover, parents who tend to assist their children with their homework would otherwise use time for more constructive activities, such as household duties or their personal interests.

However, I side with the supporters of homework as this is widely considered as a path to success. It is widely accepted that within the limited time allotted for a school class students are not able to fully practice their new academic skills, and homework is seen as a good solution in this situation. It has been proved by various studies that repetition is a fundamental factor in learning new information, resulting in better acquisition of knowledge. Additionally, certain school subjects, namely sciences or languages, require additional time for self-study in order to better understand a subject being learned, which is another argument in favor of extra home-based academic work.

In conclusion, although some people may regard homework as unnecessary and time-consuming, it generally plays a vital role in acquiring new academic skills and knowledge in many academic subjects. Therefore, I believe that homework should remain an integral part of any education process.