Some people believe that old buildings, such as town halls and art galleries, should be restored, even though this can be costly. Others argue that governments should replace them with new modern buildings. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Some people believe that old buildings should be maintained, whereas others advocate that they ought to be replaced by modern ones. I believe that destroying outdated buildings is generally the better approach, as the government can allocate more funding to people’s lifestyle and contemporary technologies can digitally recreate such buildings.

On the one hand, demolition creates enormous carbon emissions because of the reconstruction increase the demand for steel manufacturing and concrete production, both of which generate substantial amounts of toxic gases. In turn, it leads to deleterious effect on air quality, putting people’s lives in jeopardy. However, through minor refurbishment, governing bodies can avoid the environmental damage caused by reconstruction. Furthermore, physiological researchers suggest that individuals feel emotionally attached to places with historical features. Walking through outdated streets result in nostalgia, which people become more curious and enhance their knowledge concerning such places.

On the other hand, a prolonged period of preserving one ancient monument may consume millions of dollars annually from the budget at the government’s disposal. That money could instead allocate to erect state-of-the-art schools and expend primarily on the road system, fixing traffic gridlock problems. Hence, not only does carrying out demolishing course of action provide better life, but it also avoids the fund mismanagement. Moreover, future generations can experience ruined ancient buildings digitally. It is feasible to be in a visual reality due to recent special 3D scanning, which capable of developing the resemblance of old building through its numerical system. Therefore, there is no longer demand to maintenance.

In conclusion, notwithstanding some reasons of keeping outdated constructions, I strongly believe that demolishing such buildings mainly paves the way for governing bodies. Because they can avoid the wrong money management. Also, physical preservation is no longer the only way to maintain history thanks to technology advancements.