Some people believe that once a person becomes a criminal, he will always be a criminal. Do you agree with this statement? Provide specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

Some proponents concern that once an individual commits a crime, the person will be a criminal permanently. However, personally, I disagree with this statement since numerous situations can lead a person to be a criminal, and a lawbreaker can be guided to the right trajectory by the governments.

Initially, a criminal or even a felon is going to receive rehabilitation and reform programs in jail, which not only help them to earn some fortune to pay for their daily needs but it is also a method for prisoners to acquire vocational training. Concerning the reasons why people become criminals, the statistics have illustrated that tons of malefactors committed crimes due to lacking skills to survive. For instance, in Taiwan, different types of vocational programs are created in prison such as baking lessons, cooking license programs, and the class teaching criminals to be a repairman. Those activities can bring back a prisoner’s confidence to earn a living by a legal way, but not by robbing or stealing.

Furthermore, a sinner can have a personal growth and change by education especially when juvenile delinquency happens. The young criminals in Taiwan will not be sent into jail, whereas they will be gathered in a specific school to protect and educate them. Regarding the statistics, those youth who commit a crime usually result from dysfunctional families; hence, the government prefers to guide those sinners to the correct path, and give them mental treatment to cure their injuries coming from their childhood. Before releasing them from the school, the psychotherapists need to approve that young offenders have personal growth and change during this educational period.

Another conductions can prove that once an individual turns into a sinner, the person will not always be a criminal are false accusations and wrongful imprisonment. It can be obviously observed particularly in domestic abusement. In Taiwanese society, a great deal of conventional families still exist, and they believe that all the good and bad things happening at home should not spread outside. Thereby, those bullies are certain that they can endlessly humiliate other family members, and the victims might lose the courage to seek assistance. Once the victims retaliate, they usually try the most militant method to protect themselves. As a law student, I can confidently say that it is just a justifiable defense which should not be viewed as a crime even though they truly do some illegal things.

In conclusion, even if a person inadvertently commits a crime, it does not mean that the criminal will always be a sinner. Most of the time, they are the people in need in this society. If we can give a hand to them ,supposedly criminals will be guided to the right path, and will not be a criminal anymore.