Some people believe that once a person becomes a criminal, he will always be a criminal. Do you agree with this statement? Provide specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

There is an ongoing debate regarding whether a person becomes a criminal after once committing a crime. While some people agree with this statement, I totally disagree with this opinion as there are numerous reasons why ,but it is mainly because human beings possess the capacity for personal transformation and criminal behaviour is often the result of temporary circumstances rather than an unchangeable nature.

To begin with, although some offenders repeatedly break the law, it is unreasonable to assume that every criminal is incapable of reform. Everyone is given a second chance and it is meaningless to believe that person will remain a criminal for whole life after once doing wrong thing. Individual’s personalities, values and behaviour are not fixed. However, they can learn from their mistakes, mature over time and choose different path after experiencing the consequences of their actions. For example, the research has shown that many former offenders become responsible citizens after reflecting on their past actions. Human nature is characterised by the capacity for change, meaning that many wrongdoers are able to reform and lead law-abiding lives after recognising the ramifications of their actions.

Furthermore, criminal behaviour is often shaped by socio-economic disadvantage, family relationship and other circumstances. If we deepen into criminals’ prehistory, a significant proportion of them suffered from poverty, poor living conditions, harsh family relationship and bullying in school. They might start to feel themselves weak and loser damaging their mental health. As a result, they start to offend their enemies as it may help them feel the power over them. Rehabilitation programmes or work with professional physchologists can make a difference because this is a fundamental aspect of human nature. From this perspective, people tend to transform even if they have a criminal background.

In conclusion, believing that individuals who have broken the law can never truly change and will inevitably continue engaging in criminal behaviour is not always true. All human beings are capable of transformation and a simple rehabilitation works can help with it.