Some people believe that online education is becoming more popular and can eventually replace traditional classroom learning. Discuss both views and give your opinion

From the last few years, online education has become a very popular at many educational institutes. In no time, there are chances that it might replace the existing, classic ways of classroom teaching. The exponential growth in technology has provided a platform to provide knowledge to people and aid online means of education. This, however, comes with some drawbacks and might not be completely displace the existing system.

The biggest advantage of online teaching is that one can easily attend classes or lectures without the need to be physically present. Students can attend classes from their home or from anywhere convenient given they have a proper device, a good internet and a focusing and quite environment. Moreover, this saves time and costs relating to commute. Not only this, but also the teachers can easily accommodate more number of students than physical classrooms though it is still limited to the software used.

Another great advantage of online courses is that the sessions can be recorded and made available to students. This helps them to manage and access these recordings and other digital notes whenever they feel the need to revise or even replay the course repetitively to get a better understanding.

A concerning drawback of this methodology is the communication gap that is created between the teacher and the students. The presence of the audience is not entirely known to the teacher which might not assure the former if the class is actually paying attention. In the traditional ways of teaching, the teachers communicate with students, face to face ,which aids a more responsive environment. On the other hand, for young groups of children, the traditional way of teaching would be a better option as there will be less distractions in classrooms. Listening teachers in-person will allow the children to get practical insights and a better grasp of knowledge.

To conclude, the technological advancements do provide a more convenient and cost efficient way of education though the existing way of teaching will still be essential to closely analyse students’ performance. This issues can be addressed by forcing a hybrid mode of education that incorporates both teaching online and in-place, in classrooms or lecture halls, to promote a better connection among both the parties.