Some people believe that prison is the best way to punish criminals. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this view?

There is an ongoing debate about what is the best punishment for criminals. While imprisonment can provide protection against dangerous criminals, it increases government funding and minor criminal exposure to violent criminal behaviours. As a result, I believe that using alternatives such as fines and community service with prison sentence for harmful crimes is the best approach.

On the one hand, supporters of isolating criminals in jails believe that this way criminals reflect on what they did and understand that criminal behaviours have consequences. Furthermore, preventive methods and light punishment can’t deter criminals with psychological disorder from committing harmful crimes. For example, releasing serial killers or giving them short sentence could endanger society, as such individuals might reoffend upon release. Moreover, governments must cover prisoners’ living expenses which makes prison maintaining costly for authorities.

However, others argue that other punishments such as fines and compulsory community service can be more effective for minor criminals. For instance, offenders who do shoplifting or vandalism should be required to assist during natural disasters, encouraging a sense of social responsibility which reduces minor crime rates in long term. Additionally, funds collected through fine can be used for implementation of prevention programs and covering prison expenses. As a result, pressures on public finances reduce and money paid by taxpayers can be used in other sectors like infrastructure and education.

In conclusion, while imprisonment offers a safer society from violent criminals, it might not be the best solution for all minor offenders. I think a combination of preventive measures and alternative punishments can lead to a more responsible and financially sustainable society.