Some people believe that public money should not spent on cultural amenities such as museums, theatres, and art festivals. How important do you think these things are to society as a whole ? Are there any areas which are more important for governments to fund?

Whereas some argue that public funds should not be allocated to cultural amenities such

as museums, theatres, and art festivals, it is undeniable that these activities play a crucial role in

our lives.

Firstly, it is widely believed that engagement in events like visiting museums and

participating in art exhibitions and attending festivals contributes significantly to citizens’

historical awareness. This, in turn, plays pivotal role in preserving the cultural identity of a

nation. Secondly, by involving such activities individuals, particularly people who have nine-to-

five jobs can strengthen their mental stability and alleviate psychological related issues such as

depression, burnout and anxiety. Engaging in such activities provides a valuable opportunity to

temporarily shift from the work, fostering a healthier mental state.

Examining potential alternatives for government support, education emerges as a

paramount concern. A well-educated populace with strong academic foundation is crucial for

maintaining financial stability, even in the face of economic turmoil. In certain regions,

particularly in developing countries, individuals without access to education are more likely to

commit crime compared to those with a university degree. Moreover, one of the priorities that

cannot be omitted is quality healthcare, which can directly affect the country’s well-being. Not

only concentrating on public health but also sharpening specialists’ knowledge and skills can

yield influential benefits.

To conclude, allocating fund to support entertainment amenities can be effective

investment. This expenditure not only to enhance citizens’ historical knowledge but also to

undermine mental problems, and further important alternatives could be education and public

health.