Some people believe that schoolchildren should be made to wear a uniform. Other feel that children should be free to choose their own clothes. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Views differ concerning the dress code for students. While some people highlight that children should wear an outfit they want, I side with those who argue that making wearing a uniform mandatory is the best decision for schoolchildren.

There are several reasons why people are against mandatory school uniforms. The primary reason is that this action is just one more thing for teachers to have to worry about. In a world where teachers are overworked and underpaid, it might be better for teachers to simply not must worry about what their students wear, instead, placing their all focus on enhancing their students’ academic performance. Another serious reason relates to negative critical thinking as uniforms take away choices. Instead of thinking critically about choosing clothing that fits within specific guidelines, they are told to follow the masses. This can make it difficult for them when they graduate since thinking critically about clothing choices is important in the adult world.

However, I firmly believe that mandatory uniform policy should be allowed for various reasons. Key among them would be affordability. Many schools intentionally choose uniforms that are very basic, such as “white polo shirt and black trousers,” so that parents do not have to pay exorbitant amounts of money on the uniforms. A typical 5-pack of basic white polo shirts and black trousers that students can wear to school as a uniform is likely to be significantly cheaper than outfits a child would wear otherwise. Reducing visible poverty is another big reason. If all children are dressed the same, the poorer children whose parents cannot afford brand-name clothing are not as visibly singled-out. This leads to the same treatment among classmates, as they will be wearing the same clothes as the wealthier children. But it also enables children who are poor to feel as if they are no different from others.

In conclusion, although there may be certain arguments for mandatory standardized dress, particularly in terms of extra burden on teachers and reduced critical thinking, I remain convinced that students should not be left free to decide what they wear.