Some people believe that schools should teach children skills like cooking and gardening. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is widely believed that schools should integrate cooking and gardening lessons into their curricula. Personally, I disagree with this statement. This essay will argue that while schools play an important role in academic education, the teaching of cooking and gardening might be more appropriate to be taught by parents or guardians and regarded as extracurricular activities rather than compulsory subjects.

To begin with, I would say that the responsibility of guiding children on how to cook or garden should be taken by parents and guardians. These are supposed to be the most fundamental skills and can be more effective to learn from home than in school environments, where traditional values and familial cultures can be instilled in children’s acquisitions along with more practical, personalized instructions. As a result, it can not only foster and strengthen family bonds but also impart and preserve family heritages.

Additionally, the time students have to spend on obligatory subjects has been increasingly expanded. Adding extra lessons to non-academic skills such as cooking or gardening will put great pressure on children’s timetable and might disturb students’ attention on the available subjects, leading to a dramatic reduction in their productivity, academic performances, and deterioration of pleasure.

To conclude, while the debate over turning cooking and gardening into compulsory subjects is continually noticeable, I am firmly into the idea that schools should just provide students with educational knowledge and theoretical information. Hands-on skills are better taught in family environments, in which they can connect with conventional family culture and improve relationships among the family members. Moreover, cooking and gardening should be considered extracurricular activities so that children can acquire them more efficiently and effectively.