Some people believe that scientists have the greatest influence on the world. Other people, however, think that the influence of politicians is greater. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In today’s interconnected world, influence is key in shaping and reshaping the world. Many people consider politicians as those who have much sway over the general direction of society. But there are those who think scientists are the true driving force.

As the leaders of their respective nations, politicians influence the world by creating laws to govern their people. Such laws affect how their people act, how they live, and possibly even how they think. Furthermore, politicians also influence the nations around them as their actions may help countries or pull them down. That is why many pay attention to the rhetoric and actions of powerful leaders since these affect the policies of the world.

However, others believe scientists are more influential. This is primarily because the world is what it is because of what scientists have already created, seen for example in the way that people can circle the globe in less than a day and contact loved ones instantly because of high-tech devices. Another reason is that much of what the world will become depends upon the ongoing work of scientists. Issues like climate change, resource sustainability, and vaccines for pandemics can only be resolved by these scientists. So what they are doing now and what they will continue to do in the future will greatly affect the world.

Between the two, I believe that politicians have more influence. Although I acknowledge that scientific contributions have truly changed our way of life, politicians are still directly affecting people daily because of their policies. In fact, politicians often influence what scientists research as the government usually has a hand in many key research projects, especially those that may revolutionise how people live.

In conclusion, even if scientists are working toward solutions, politicians are still the ones directing which problems to solve and who should first benefit from the results. Therefore, the true power is in the politicians’ hands.