Some people believe that social media sites, such as Facebook or Twitter, have a negative impact on young people and their ability to form personal relationships. Others believe that these sites bring people together in a beneficial way.

Recently, there is a controversial debate on wether it is beneficial for younger demographics to use social medias. Diverse viewpoints exist regarding to this trend. Someone argues that social media is detrimental to teenagers, while others disagree. In my opinion, although social media sites presents some favourable aspects, the excessive usage of it haphazardly carries potential risks.

Primarily, it is undeniable that social media can enable individuals to deepen bonds with their friends and families. Especially for international students, they can utilize FaceTime to communicate with parents overseas, which is a perfect remedy for homesick.

Nevertheless, while social media may yield certain advantages, it also precipitates a range of significant problems. First of all, the excessive usage of social media can exert adverse effects on individuals both mental and physical well-beings. For example, the radiation from screen can contribute to permanent impairment on human’s eyesights. It is also quite easy for younger demographics to get addicted to it, and researches demonstrate that the addiction to social media is the culprit of ADHD. Moreover, social media sites will possibly disturb the harmony of society. The over use of social media will cause people to lose interests in real life and lead to social indifference.

In conclusion, the drawbacks of social media overweight its merits. Young people should use it under certain time control rather than endless usage of it.