Some people believe that sport is an essential part of school life for children, while others feel it should be purely optional. Discuss these opposing views and give your own opinion

Some argue that sport plays a significant role in students’ school lives. However, other people consider that it should be solely an optional course. This essay will discuss both sides of the argument before giving my opinion.

Advocates of sport as a compulsory class argue that sports benefits school children’s physical health greatly. By engaging in sports could allow students to escape from sedentary lifestyle for a while, which can have a positive impact on their overall well-being. Additionally, they believe that participating in sports contributes to school students’ mental health dramatically. This is because, physical activities can help reduce feelings of depression and stress, while improving school children’s mood and emotion.

On the other hand, supporters of the opinion that sports should be solely an optional course believe that students’ sports level is not a factor of the school entrance examination. They argue that students would not have enough time to study other more important subjects, for instance mathematics and physics, if sports become a compulsory course. Also, they believe that doing exercise could be an afterschool activity. This is because that much more paid facilities with higher quality are available for children in our society.

In my opinion, sports should be a compulsory course in school. This is not only because students who exercise regularly have higher attendance and better academic performance due to fewer sick days, but also because taking part in sports can improve students’ concentration and focus.