Some people believe that sport is an essential part of school life for children, while others feel it should be purely optional. Discuss these opposing views and give your own opinion

Some individuals hold a belief that sports is necessary in school curriculum for youngsters, while others think that sports do not play a crucial role. In my opinion, although both views can be justified, I am more inclined to the former idea.

On the one hand, there are a couple of arguments in favor of sports being needed in school curriculum. Firstly, sports help youngsters elevate their physical and mental endurance. After a long day of studying, students can play sports to reduce the stress and also strengthen their muscles. Many sports have a demand in physical health, so it is necessary for youngsters to play at least one sport in school to help them keep fit and relax their mind. Secondly, sports can increase the connection and strengthen relationships between students. It is noticeable that numerous sports require team working and communication between students. For example, youngsters can play football with their friends, so they can improve their connection, teamwork and leadership skills with others.

On the other hand, there are several reasons in support of the idea that sports could be optional in an academic atmosphere. To begin with, over-focusing on sports can disrupt youngsters’ school curriculum .Students can easily have an interest in sports and spend major of their time on playing sports instead of doing academic projects. This may affect students’ academic performances and also alleviate their concentration at school lessons. In addition, sports may have some dangers while playing them incorrectly. In some cases, students can get injuries which directly affect their well being. For example, when youngsters play football, they can break their bones or even their legs. This impacts a lot on their school curriculum and takes plenty of time to recover after getting an injury.

In conclusion, even though there are convincing arguments on both sides of the debate, sports, which is an essential part of school curriculum, is a superior option. It is advisable for the government to invest more resources in including more sport activities in school curriculum.