Some people believe that technology causes more problems for modern society than it solves. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is a common belief that the development of technology is indeed a double-edged sword, which introduces both merits and demerits to people’s lives. Personally, whilst I understand negative aspects of technological development, I believe that technology has helped the human race to overcome many difficulties.

On the one hand, it is reasonable that technological innovation would bring about several drawbacks to people’s lives. To begin with, people’s well-being these days is more likely to be prone to technological revolution. As a matter of fact, people, especially teenagers, are more likely to access technological gadgets from early age. Hence, it is easier for them to get addicted to these devices and immerse themselves in the virtual world. Therefore, youngsters may lead a sedentary lifestyle, in which they may suffer from various health’s problems, such as obesity and heart diseases. Moreover, digital revolution also prevents people from real interaction, which may give rise to isolation or even depression.

On the other hand, I believe that tech-driven solutions also revolutionize positively the way people live and work. Firstly, the development of technology foster productivity and efficiency at workplace. In particular, robots are indeed a disruptive innovation, which replaces people at physical demand-required works. Furthermore, robots can also help people do household chores. Secondly, digital innovation also enables people to broaden their social networking. Smartphones, for instance, connected to the Internet allow people to meet like-minded people via various social platforms, such as Facebook and Instagram. Thirdly, the revolution of technology would also ameliorate people’s living standards. A wide lange of entertaining services are produced, which may helped people unwind physically and mentally.

In conclusion, while I acknowledge that several issues are attributed to digital transformation regarding people’s physical and mental health, I believe that benefits that it would bring is more significant in terms of enhancing productivity, broadening social circle and improving people’s living quality.