Some people believe that the aging population is good for business, the economy and society. Others, however, disagree with this view. Discuss both views and give your opinion

The impact of aging people on businesses, the economy, and society has ignited significant discourse, with a spectrum of opinions regarding whether they serve as a positive force or pose a threat. This essay will elucidate both perspectives before articulating my own stance.

On the one hand, it is undeniable that older workers can offer significant advantages. They are more skilled and experienced in each industry and can share their knowledge with younger generations. Their problem-solving skills, due to their experience, are vital during emergency situations where only one right decision can be made, so keeping them in managerial positions is worthwhile. One good illustration of it occurred during a storm in the Pacific Ocean near an oil platform. The platform was considerably damaged, and a fire broke out because of a damaged gas tube. Workers were confused and did not know what to do. Among them, there was an old worker who had previously worked on another platform and faced almost the same situation. He ordered the immediate closure of the gas supply and the turning off of all heating devices. After that, the fire went out, and the next day this man was promoted to the platform security supervisor with a competitive salary.

Conversely, a significant part of older people do not work and are retired. They do not produce anything but consume a lot. A remarkable part of taxes brought from the working population and government funding goes to their pensions and maintaining a suitable environment for them. This money can be redirected to other sectors and industries that are more lucrative.

To sum up, while the aging population provides young ones with knowledge and experience, it may not be beneficial or profitable to provide them with pensions. In my opinion, today’s societal stance and regulatory standards provide effective ways to cover drawbacks and maintain a sustainable economy.