Some people believe that the aging population is good for business, the economy and society. Others, however, disagree with this view. Discuss both views and give your opinion

In many countries, the trends toward fewer children and more senior citizens are proceeding at an accelerated pace. Some people say that such tendencies have positive effects on business, the economy and society, while others think that there are some adverse consequences in this trend. My stance is that the aging population does more harm than good in our world today.

On the one hand, there are some reasons why some people think that the aging of a society gains some great benefits. When it comes to economic and business terms, companies which have older staff may benefit a great deal. Since older employees have a wealth of experience and specialized knowledge they have obtained through their decades-long working lives that they can pass on to their younger counterparts. As a result, working collaboratively among elderly and young people in an organization helps improve work productivity and increase profits, which helps boost economic growth. Furthermore, in social terms, older people also dedicate their time participating in community service projects and voluntary activities. Healthy and energetic, they are the backbone of volunteering services as they can provide voluntary organizations with legal, accounting, computer or other skills for free.

On the other hand, the development of the older demographic may present many challenges to the community today. Firstly, due to the proliferation of technology all over the world, employees are expected to be more creative and innovative to keep up with these developments. However, old people are likely to be less active and well-updated than their younger co-workers, thereby hindering their company’s development. In addition, local businesses will be unable to compete with international organizations if they lack creativity or are unable to keep updated with the latest technology. Secondly, the increase in the number of aging populations could lead to higher unemployment rates. This is predicated on the assumption that these days, many elderly candidates compete with younger ones for the same position. Many young candidates would be forced to be unemployed or take a low-paying job due to a lack of experience. Consequently, a rise in unemployment could lead to other social problems such as poverty and crime.

In conclusion, the trends toward fewer children and more senior citizens not only helps increase work productivity and profits in the workplace, but also contributes to society through volunteering activities. Nevertheless, I strongly argue that if such trends continue to develop for a long time, some businesses will face a lack of creativity and citizens will experience unemployment, which can lead to poverty and crime.