Some people believe that the best way to control accidents on city streets is to lower the speed limit but others think there are more important issues that need attention before roads can be safe. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There has been an increase in the number of traffic accidents as the adoption of vehicles continues and people are arguing what is the best way to control traffic accidents. Some people believe that lowering the speed limit will effectively control traffic accident, while others disagree and think there are more pressing issues to be addressed to improve road safety s This essay will discuss both viewpoints before concluding that there are more critical issues that need addressing before road travel is safe.

Some people believe that lower speed limit will reduce the frequency of accidents and the damage from accidents. It is true many traffic accidents happen because of high driving speed as the drivers have less reaction time to steer or brake in reaction to road situations and the accident damages are usually more severe as the impact collision is greater with higher speed. Cities and countries that have introduced measures to lower speed limits have seen decreases in traffic accident occurrence. However, this does not necessarily mean lower speed limits is the most effective solution because drivers may not respect the speed limit.

Others believe, however, there are most critical issues deserving our attention in improving road safety such as public awareness of road safety and tougher law enforcement. One reason for rising traffic accidents is that many are driving while distracted. Drivers often are distracted by text messages or phone calls while on the road which divert their focus on the road and adds to the likelihood of accident. Public campaign to raise awareness on road safety and safe driving guidelines companied with tougher law enforcement and heavy fines will be an effective way to reduce traffic accidents. Improving public awareness of road safety and heavy punishments on violations could promote safer driving habits and deter those who do not respect traffic rules. Cities and countries that have enacted these measures have seen a decrease in traffic accidents.

In conclusion, I believe while lowering speed limit will help lower traffic accidents, it is not the most effective way. On contrast, public campaign by governments on road safety and tougher law enforcement with higher fines and traffic violations will be more effective in reducing traffic accidents.