Some people believe that the government should spend money on the arts. Others think that public money should be spent on more essential services such as hospitals and schools. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There is a polarized debate about whether governments ought to spend money on social services, such as education and healthcare or invest money on arts like music, theatre, and museums. I believe that both notions are true, however, funds should be allocated in a balanced way.

On the one hand, some people believe that investing money only on education and healthcare is the best option, as it can improve country’s economy and quality of life. Firstly, healthy population is the foundation of productive society. If people suffer from a serious illness or disease, the arts cannot save their lives, but well-equipped and highly-educated doctors can. Moreover, spending money on community services has long-term benefits for the government. For example; if the government makes healthcare and education more accessible and in a high-level, with cutting-edge technologies and afordable costs, citizens will be educated and healthy. As a result, people will work more productively and pay taxes which can lead to the economy boost and convinient lifestyle.

On the other hand, paying no attention to the arts, such as museums, theatre, and music can have a cost on people’s creativity and country’s identity. For many years, the art is one of the ways to tell and share histories and stories. Museum – is the place where people can learn about their history in an interactive and interesting way. For instance, State Museum of the History of Uzbekistan located in Tashkent – is one of the most largest historical museums in Uzbekistan, where we can see exponants telling about ancient civilizations, traditional lifestyles, and the formation of the modern state. Theatre performances can help not only children but adults as well, by promoting creative thinking, problem-solving, confidence, communication skills and wellbeing. People can visit theatres or perform some plays by themselves, working and communicating together.

I believe that neither of the viewpoints are perfect, as both have certain disadvantages. Spending money solely on education and healthcare or art may hinder the overall development of a particular country. An excessive focus on education and healthcare can make a country less touristy place – one of the reasons of economic decline, when investing money only on the art, government might fail to prepare future generations through education and healthcare, which are essential for future generations. Therefore, a balanced approach is essential when allocating government funds. While investing in the arts is important for cultural development, it should not come at the expense of public services like education and healthcare. If government distributes financial resources wisely, the art can serve as a way to preserve cultural heritage, and improved public services can ensure well-being of a population.

In conclusion, governments should not place an emphasis only on social services or the arts. A balanced approach that supports both is important for the well-being and cultural development, as the examples above suggest.