Some people believe that the government should take care of old people and provide financial support after they retire. Others say individuals should save during their working years to fund their own retirement. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There is currently a contentious argument about how elderly people should be financially supported in old age. While some people think that the states should give economic assistance, others claim that they should hold accountability for their future lives. In this essay, I will examine this question from both perspectives and then present my inclination towards the former.

On the one hand, some people argue that politics should assist elderly people financially. Mainly because of the fundamental right of old people. As they are young, they will pay taxes for the development of the country. One good illustration of this is countries that implement elderly care services, pension schemes, and healthcare programs, such as Sweden and the Netherlands, which often report higher levels of satisfaction among older adults. Moreover, it is also possible to say that neglecting the elderly might lead to a higher degree of poverty and social instability.

On the other hand, others advocate that individuals should be financially responsible for a secure retirement. They argue that people should proactively save up their money during working years to achieve financial independence in old age. A specific example here is countries that promote financial responsibility, and investment plans have yielded positive results in terms of elderly living standards. However, this viewpoint does not account for tragic life events such as economic downturns and health emergencies, as these could hinder the individual’s ability to save adequately.

In conclusion, although both views have their merits, I believe that the governments have a moral obligation to support elderly citizens who are no longer able to work. This is to ensure a stable society as well as manage poverty levels.