Some people believe that the increasing use of computers and mobile phones for communications has had a negative affect on young people’s reading and writing skills.

Various individuals reckon that the growing reliance on digital devices and technology for communication has an adverse impact on adolescents’ reading and writing skills. In this essay I will shed lights on some reasons why I support that expanding adoption of computers and smartphones has an disadvantageous impact on youngsters’ reading and writing abilities as well as my inclinations along with relevant examples will be discussed in the ensuring paragraphs.

Those people who are in a favor to concure the assertion that heightened utilization of computers and handheld devices bring damaging effects for people especially teenagers’ reading skill and I totally support this statement. One supportive justification to this view point is that it undermines readers’ deep-reading ability. As a standard illustration, when young adults choose to read online, they often skim a passage or a news report quickly in the way of spotting only some key isolated words, severely limiting their time to imagine the story they are reading and their emotions to experience the author’s happiness and sadness.

Many people agree with the notion that constant communication through electronic devices adversely affects teenagers’ writing ability and I partially support it. One lucid explanation to this consideration is that when people opt to employ a computer to write, it is very convenient for them to search for some valuable information as a reference to improve their writing. Furthermore, some websites supply the function to comment on essays and some given suggestions are very constructive.

In conclusion, I tend to agree with the view that this trend has caused some detrimental impacts on people’s reading and writing abilities.