Some people believe that the increasing use of computers and mobile phones for communications has had a negative affect on young people’s reading and writing skills.

Some people argue that young people’s reliance on computers and mobile phones is having an adverse effect on young people’s reading and writing skills. While digital communication can negatively affect traditional literacy skills, the benefits it provides can not be overlooked.

On one hand, excessive use of digital communication tools has led to a decline in literacy amongst young people. Usage of slangs, emojis often replace proper grammar and vocabulary, lessening the habit of formal writing. For example, many studies have shown that students often cut down on words when exchanging on their digital devices, such as “u” or “you”, which may cause struggles when they need to write in an academic or professional setting.These changes may seem small, but they are a rising concern for many educators and parents alike.

On the other hands, digital communication has benefited young people’s reading and writing skills in many ways. Social media forums, blogs expose them to diverse writing styles and topics, which may inspire creativity and increase thinking skills. For example, young people who partake in online discussions may develop skills like summarizing and persuasive writing.THis broader engagement demonstrates that digital devices can benefit young people’s reading and writing skills.

The key to solve this problem is to find balance between usage of digital traditional writing ways, schools can teach their student to paractice both digital and traditional writing ways, benefitting their students with skills to perform well in both digital and traditional environment

By encouraging a balance between formal writing practice and digital communication, young people can harness the benefits of technology without damaging their core language skills.