Some people believe that the salaries paid to professional sportspeople are too high, While others argue that sports salaries are fair. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The question of whether salaries for professional sportspeople are reasonable is often debated. While some people argue that salaries of some sport players are exceptionally high might also deter the overall sport development, others contend that high salaries are fair to the athletes as it is a reward for their sacrifices. This essay will discuss both perspectives before arguing that while salaries might be high for some sportsmen, it is an important factor for attracting youngsters to join a sport.

On one hand, some people suggested that wages for athletes in certain sport such as football and basketball are too high when comparing to that in less popular sports such as table tennis and weight lifting athletes. Parents may therefore discourage their children in joining those lower income sport and it will eventually obstruct the development of other sports. Furthermore,although sporteperson helps to promote sport and provides entertainment to general public, their contribution to the public may not be considered as important as a professional surgeon or doctor who can save lifes everyday. Therefore, some people assert that the salaries paid to professional sportspeople are too high.

On the other hand, some people advocated that athletes have many sacrifices which make them deserve a high incomes. The path of becoming professional sportpeople is hard and it usually begins at their young age. They devote their freetime after school and weekend for sport training while their peers may hang out with their fiends.Not to mention only a low proportion of them can become professional athletes eventually, the career life of a professional athlete is not long in most sports and they usually have to retire around their thirties. Moreover, the injuries that caused by intensive training may lower the quality of life of an retired athlete and hence they should be compensated by receiving a higher salary.

In conclusion, although some claim that salaries for professional sportpeople are too high, others see it as a fair compensation for thier hard work. I believe that a higher salary is an important component to attract potential youngsters to join a sport and to consider being a professional in sport as their career.