Some people believe that the salaries paid to professional sportspeople are too high, While others argue that sports salaries are fair. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Although some people claim that professional sportspeople’s wages are overpaid, others state they are fair. Both perspectives have their own valid points.

One of the two main reasons for why athletes’ salaries are pointed out overpaid is because sport is not an essential requirement in many countries. In fact, people only watch sport games no more than an entertainment while they are securing more important aspects of livelihood, such as maintaining food, shelter, and bills. Another reason is that athletes’ salaries are mostly paid by the government via citizens’ taxes. There are many more important jobs considered, especially doctors, teachers, and firefighters, whose salaries are recorded much lower than professional athletes despite the danger and significance of their work to society. If these white-collar workers could not perform well because of their underpaid wages, people may suffer numerous societal obstacles, which makes watching sports much unlikely.

In contrast, some believe that sportspeople’s wages are fair. Their main back up is that athletes have invested many of their time into respective sports, particularly in muscle building, training, and practice sessions. Additionally, many athletes have prioritized their sports over their education, which results in fewer opportunities when they are older and cannot continue their professions, leading to indigent retired life. For these reasons, the idea that the payments are fair is supported.

While both views have their own valid points, I personally stand with the perspective that they are overpaid. Though it is true that most sports cannot be continued long-term, and enough money for old athletes is necessary, it is their own responsibility to have other financial plans after retirement, as all other people do. Moreover, as most salaries are paid with government taxes, other more important jobs in education, health, and safety factors must be prioritized more in order to set up a stronger, more secured society for future generations.