Some people believe that too many resources and attention are devoted to the protection of wild animals and birds. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

Some individuals believe that protecting wild animals and birds is attracting too much concern and too many resources of society. Personally, I agree with this view to some extent.

On the one hand, it is true that the general populace is now paying too much attention and spending too many resources on the protection of wildlife. Firstly, news about wild animals can be shared rapidly on the internet. If a bear is imprisoned somewhere, this news will be widespread on social networks such as facebook on a large scale immediately. Secondly, the public money is limited; therefore, we should allocate our national budget to more urgent issues rather than spending too much on the conservation of wild animals. For instance, more resources should be diverted to medical research to find out remedies for fatal diseases such as HIV and cancer, which may help save thousands of lives.

On the other hand, I still hold the belief that the preservation of wildlife is of paramount importance and deserves more attention and resources to safeguard. To begin with, the existing regulation cannot deter poachers from hunting wild species illegally. As a result, governments should invest in constructing more wildlife reserves and enforce stricter rules against poaching. Secondly, there is still a lack of public awareness on the importance of biodiversity to society. As a matter of fact, a large number of people still consider the possession of products made from endangered animals as fashionable, thus needing more campaigns to raise their awareness of such issues.

In conclusion, I maintain that the preservation of wildlife deserves more attention and resources from the general public.