Some people believe that traditional and cultural values and behaviour will gradually disappear as societies become more modern. Do you agree or disagree?

A group of people argue that, in modern societies, human customs, traditions, and social behaviour will fade as societies continue to modernise. I fully agree with this statement because of the shift in family structures and social norms.

To begin with, in contemporary societies where people are struggling to make ends meet and live a good life, this is taking them away from traditional and cultural values. Moreover, due to job mobility, people are witnessing changes in social norms that, in the end, are eroding both old traditions and customs. For instance, in India, the traditional joint family is being replaced by nuclear families, and as of 2022, nuclear families comprised 50% of Indian households. In addition, arranged marriages have declined in favour of live-in relationships and love marriages.

As societies become more modern, individuals become more self-centric, more concerned with themselves than others, which indirectly affects social behaviour and etiquette. Moreover, because of this, social gatherings do not have the same harmony or brotherhood that these types of events used to have due to the modernisation of societies. For example, in urban areas of Delhi, according to last year’s social survey, 80% of people do not know their neighbours, even their names, and they seldom meet.

In a nutshell, as societies have become more advanced, traditions and cultures, and, in the long run, behaviours too, are slowly fading because people are becoming too busy in their own lives and to meet their needs.