Some people believe that universities should focus only on academic subjects, while others think they should also teach practical skills such as communication and teamwork. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In the modern times, attainment of skills and knowledge is the basic right of every individual. Many believe that the universities should focus only on academic studies, whereas, others suggest the acquisition of practical skills. I believe practical skills to be more effective on the lives of the students as compared to the impact of academic skills.

If we discuss the pros and cons of academic skills, we can say, academic studies should be done by every student but only focusing on this particular category can be catastrophic in the longer run. Moreover, to obtain a well-known position in today’s society, academics are the first things mostly verified for the selection processes. Without having proper certifications of academic studies, one may find it difficult to land a white-collar job or miss out numerous respectable positions but without practical skills one might find it struggling in daily life events. For example, a software engineering student can land many web development and app security jobs in the IT industry.

Whereas, in the case of pupils focusing on practical skills sidewise academics, they might not only learn basic survival but thrive in the community they reside in. This combination can turn fruitful as it may enhance their communication skills leading to more connections in their respective fields. Furthermore, with the information of academic’s as well as practical skills, a person can show extra ordinary success in their daily tasks and would almost be a perfectionist. For example, a person with both project management and excellent communication tricks can convey his/her message more clearly and lead their team effectively.

To conclude, I would suggest the youth to attain practical knowledge alongside the academic education to succeed in every battle of life, leading them to an easy victory more often.