some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to younger children) Are you agree or disagree?

It is sometimes argued that high school students should be made to do some work in their local communities. In my opinion, it would be wrong to force teenagers to do any kind of unsalaried work.

There are several reasons why I would argue against having compulsory community service for secondary school students. Firstly, the school curriculum is already full with important academic subjects, such as maths, science and languages. For example, I remember having an extremely busy timetable when I was at high school, and it would not have been possible to add to it. Secondly, students’ performance in other subjects would be affected if valuable study time were taken by charity work or neighbourhood improvement schemes. Finally, I believe that teenage students would be reluctant to take part in any programme of obligatory work, and this could lead to poor motivation and even bad behaviour.

On the other hand, the opportunity to do voluntary community service could be extremely positive for high school students. By making these programs optional, schools would ensure that only motivated students took part. These young people would gain valuable experience in an adult working environment, which could help build their self confidence and enhance their skills. Having such experience and skills on their CVs could greatly improve school leavers’ career prospects. For example, a period of voluntary work experience might impress a university admissions officer or a future employer.

In conclusion, I believe that unpaid jobs would increase the unpleasant state of behaviours among high school students, which can negatively affect their performance