Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programs. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

There is a widespread belief that charitable activity should be included as a compulsory part of the curriculum of high school. I side with the given statement, because, in general, being engaged in volunteering can help teenagers learn empathy towards other people. It is advantageous, particularly for adolescents, because it is supposed to be an essential additional skill for them, but it might have advantages and disadvantages as well. Hence, it might impact their future willingness to engage in voluntary work, so it needs to be completely organized in order not to affect teenagers’ minds negatively.

First and foremost, adolescents might feel valuable changes as they become an essential part of the community while they take care of the helpless and homeless. In addition, voluntary work is considered to be a fascinating practice to prevent crimes against society and contamination of the environment.

Secondly, confrontation with reality may shock some kids. As a result, they will get some psychological trauma. I would also like to see parents being engaged in volunteering as well. Obviously, adolescents learn what to do largely by watching others. In fact, they are built to imitate what they see. Therefore, if adolescents tended to promote benevolence from the youngest period surrounded by teachers and parents, they would be exposed to various risks minimally because of a safe and secure environment.

To sum up, I strongly believe that voluntary work should be incorporated as an obligatory lesson into the high school curriculum, but teenagers’ willingness and psychological differences in personality have to be taken into account. As a result, it will contribute to make efforts to get a qualified team capable of collaborating well together.