Some people believe that wild animals should not be kept in zoos or other man-made environments as there is no longer a need for them in the 21st century. Do you agree or disagree?

Some people assert that it is better for wild animals to be kept in cages. However, this essay is of the opinion that, in some cases, it is really important to keep animals in zoos or man-made environments, as this may protect some endangered species and enhance public awareness of environmental problems.

It cannot be denied that zoos often save animals on the brink of extinction. Various rehabilitation and rescue programs include the constant attention and assistance from highly qualified specialists. Consequently, endangered species receive the necessary support and proper care, which reduces their stress levels and promotes reproduction. Besides, zoos and protected areas provide animals with defense from hunters and poachers. This also contributes to the safety of biodiversity and the wild species of the planet.

Another reason why zoos may be beneficial is the opportunity for people to learn about wild animals, their challenges and dangers, and to educate children to respect them. Modern zoos often have many banners and information about animals, how they were saved, or what problems of the ecosystem have disrupted their existence in the wild. This information may encourage people to pay attention to the conditions of the environment, inspire them to protect nature, and foster an appreciation for wildlife.

To sum up, this essay assumes that zoos may positively influence the lives of animals through rehabilitation and rescue programs that help prevent the disappearance of species at risk of extinction. Furthermore, people who visit such areas become more aware of environmental problems and the importance of protecting wildlife.