Some people believe that with hard work and determination, people can gain success in life. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, hard work and determination are integral parts of our society. It is argued that diligence and persistence are crucial in determining success, while this notion may be true to some extent. Other factors, such as financial status, social approach, and external appearance also play an essential role in success. Although both views hold merit, I endorse the latter perspective more.

On the one hand, there are several reasons why determination and conscientiousness are important for success. Reasons behind this may include passion, strong will, a good working environment, and years of working experience. For example, if a person has a strong will to achieve something, he or she must set goals and then work hard with determination. Individuals with iron will have achieved success after years of labor and many failures, but indecisive people may give up on the first try.

On the other hand, opponents of the previous view advocate that other aspects, such as a strong background, good social connections, and pleasant appearance, are essential parts of success. For instance, if a person has a strong social approach, he or she may be selected in a job interview due to a recommendation. Additionally, if a person has a solid background, he or she may start his or her own business. People with rich backgrounds have more opportunities and chances for success. Other reasons, such as external appearance, also play a role; for example, if a person has good appearance, he or she may be selected in an interview because of elegance.

In conclusion, notwithstanding the mixed opinions on whether industriousness and determination are the most fundamental factors in success, I believe that factors such as wealth and physical attractiveness are more significant for achieving success.