Some people believe that young people should choose the jobs that they want, but other people think they should be more realistic and think more about their future. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Undoubtedly, choosing a particular job is one of the most important parts of most people’s lives, as it plays an integral role in the personal achievements in the future career. In recent years, it has been believed that the younger generation should opt for a certain occupation consistent with their preferences and willingness, while some members of society disagree with this opinion, supporting considering the future and making realistic approaches. The former assertion, in my view, is more justified because, with job dissatisfaction, people cannot work productively, reducing the likelihood of professional success.

Some critics contend that taking the future into consideration and real-life approaches are of paramount importance when choosing a job. To bolster this perspective, they cite that if people took potential dramatic changes in the near and far future into account, this would enable them to choose the right profession from which they can earn sufficient money, even after several decades. This, in turn, means that worrying about the life after a long period of time is unnecessary. However, there are numerous jobs that are expected to carry a constant demand from a significant number of candidates until the next century, particularly IT (Information Technology) and education-related positions, such as teaching at schools or universities, thereby proving being against aspirations when selecting the future profession to be preposterous.

Personal aspirations and plans are crucial to be considered to choose the jobs. The primary reason for this seems to be that if individuals are satisfied with their work, they can enhance their efficiency at the workplace, which ensures possible occupational prosperity. Due to exemplarily good performances, they may even be promoted to an upper position or provided special incentives later in life, resulting in continuous happiness and financial stability. A close friend of mine, for instance, chose being an English teacher at the university in our local area according to his innate linguistic capabilities and interests, which made him indeed successful in its professional life. Recently, he has been promoted and become a principal of his university because of his substantial contributions to the institution he willingly made. Therefore, personal desires and abilities should fit one’s future occupation.

To conclude, irrespective of some contradictory views claiming that being a realist while looking for future jobs is more preferable, I firmly believe that intentions are more noteworthy since job satisfaction allow people to gain more attainments at work.