Some people believe that zoos are cruel and should be closed. Others argue that they are beneficial for education and conservation. Discuss both views and give your opinion

The relative importance of zoos has become a widely debated topic across the world. While there are those who say that zoos ought to be terminated because of terribleness, others emphasise that zoos ought not to be because of education and protection purposes. This essay will analyse both perspectives before concluding with my overall opinion.

In general, there are several reasons why people advocate for keeping zoos. One of the primary reasons is that zoos play a vital role in wildlife conservation. In other words, due to deforestation and climate change, many species continuously lose their habitat and become extinct, which greatly impacts biodiversity and the ecosystem. Zoos can protect those endangered animals and keep them safe from extinction. Another reason for this viewpoint is that zoos allow scientists to study animals. Many zoos assist research centres and organisations by supplying animals for innovation and research to invent antidotes and medicines.

Despite these discussions, numerous individuals contend that zoos should be banned. Perhaps the main reason people favour this idea is that animals lose their freedom to hunt food. Hunting is an innate trait of many animals, but in zoos, there is no option for hunting, and animals have to eat readymade food or processed food. As a result, they can lose their innate characteristics. Furthermore, another compelling argument is that zoo animals are kept in artificial environments. In zoos, animals are placed in very congested places compared to their size, which can lead to medical problems both physically and mentally.

In conclusion, it is evident that the aforementioned reasons clearly illustrate why both sides are important. Having considered both points of view, I will argue that although keeping animals in zoos has some advantages for conservation and research purposes, the negative effects of keeping them in zoos, such as lost freedom and lost natural environment, completely outweigh them.