Some people believe that zoos where animals are kept in a man-made environment should no longer exist in the 21st century. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people argue that zoos where creatures are contained in artificial enclosures should be banned in this century. This essay totally agrees with this statement because it is cruel to keep an animal in a confined space, and nature programs allow us to view animals without the need for a zoo.

The first reason that animals should not kept in artificial enclosures is that it is inherently cruel. That is to say that as human beings, we are intelligent enough to know that animal is suffering and if we decide to do it anyway, we are causing unneeded pain and discomfort. For example, Sea World in California recently admitted that their whales were depressed and not in optimal health because they cannot swim in the ocean, but decided to keep them in the park because they were a big attraction.

The second main reason is that high-quality documentaries remove our need to see animals in captivity. This is because televisions have such high-quality screens, and programmers are now able to offer us a very intimate glimpse of animals in their natural habitats. Thus, we can get a better insight into the lives of wild animals by staying at home. For instance, the BBC recently produced a series called Life in the Undergrowth which allowed us to understand the lives of insects in stunning high definition.

In conclusion, wild animals should all be allowed to live freely because it is evil to trap and force them to live in an animal park, and television shows about animals allow us to learn about them without going to see them in person.