The rise of social media influencers is shaping consumer behavior, but concerns are growing about the lack of regulation and potential for misleading advertising. What are the negative consequences of this trend, and what regulatory measures should governments consider to address these issues?

During the recent years we have witnessed a rapid change in the consumer behaviours and choices. Some may argue these shifts are occuring due to the means of infuence. Nowadays, individuals choose to be led by the opinions and positions of the so-called opinion-makers, rooting their conclusions on their promotions. This allowed us to observe subtle changes in consumer behaviour along with the necessity to revise the familiar and traditional marketing regulations.

The existing regulatory frameworks for marketing practises were designed to protect customers from misinformation and support decision making. However, with the rise of the social media coverage and engagement, where freedom of speech and expression is considered to be central, these approches became somewhat obsolete.

As humans are prone to shaping their opinions based on word-of-mouth and peer reviews, a new way of targeting and influencing wider opinions emerged. At first, this seemed to be a more credible and relatable way to forming an opinion. Ostensibly, there emerged individuals and opinion-makers who broadcasted unverified information, and since this was served under the guise of freedom of speech, it became difficult to protect informed customer decision-making.

Evidently, the traditional regulatory frameworks begun to develop according to the new realities. In my view, it is of utmost importance to create new legal measures for customer protection, by allowing only qualified influencers to broadcast marketing, and especially educational or health-related promotional content.

In conclusion, we may propose that new legislations and rules for ethical promotional materials should be adopted and communicated publicly.