Some people choose to have their first child at an older age. What are the reasons? Is it a positive or negative development?

Deciding to have the first child at a more advanced age has become a popular choice among some people in this modern era. In this essay, I would evaluate the benefits and drawbacks of this development before proposing which side is more prominent.

In order to raise a child successfully in this modern world, parents must take care of many different aspects of its development, such as physical, psychological, and academic growth. For instance, it is common for many parents to spend a large amount of money on their children’s healthcare, education, and even entertainment. This is why parents delay the time before having the first child, it may lead to a better development for the child. Moreover, raising a child effectively nowadays requires a lot of spending, especially on medical care, academic training, and recreational activities. Therefore, delaying the time before having the first child is beneficial since it helps parents accumulate enough resources and even experiences. Furthermore, in this competitive work environment, having a child too early may disrupt the career progress of parents given the fact that many workers in their 20s have only consolidated their career partially. As a result, delaying the time of having children may benefit parents’ careers, which extends to even the child that they are going to have in the future.

Besides the mentioned benefits, this prevalent trend also causes several negative effects. First and foremost, science has proven that giving birth after a certain age is detrimental to the health of both mother and her children. For example, women who give birth after the age of 35 are more likely to experience complications such as high blood pressure or premature delivery. Furthermore, this delay may directly widen the generational gap between parents and their children, making it harder for the family to maintain emotional stability and social interactions.

In conclusion, after considering both sides of this development, I believe that its benefits are more significant. Not only can such a delay help parents accumulate resources and experiences indispensable to raising a child successfully, but it can also support the development of parents’ careers.