Some people choose to have their first child at an older age. What are the reasons? Is it a positive or negative development?

In recent years, having a first child at an older age has been increasingly common among some parents. While this trend may raise numerous health and energy issues, the benefits related to financial stability and improved life conditions often outweigh the drawbacks.

On the one hand, giving birth later can have many issues in terms of health and energy. Older parents, especially mothers, may have to face several medical risks during pregnancy, for example increasing blood pressure and other health complications. When the toddlers become older, parents are required to have strong physical stamina to raise the children, which tends to decline gradually. For example, many parents in their forties find it hard to catch up with their active toddlers. Nevertheless, this situation can be mitigated. Parents now can not only hire trained caregivers, but they also have several opportunities to access enhanced medical services to improve the well-being of both the mothers and the children, reducing the negative impacts of age-related issues.

On the other hand, the trend of having children later is not without advantages. Chief among these is financial sustainability. Older parents may have time to establish their career, which places less financial burden on them, so that they can afford high-quality health services and educational resources. Moreover, the child will be born in a comfortable and well-equipped environment that supports education. As a result, the parents can ensure their child’s overall quality of life to be higher. For example, children raised by wealthy parents are often given to international schools, where they can access better facilities and global learning experiences that foster their development.

In conclusion, although the propensity of delayed parenthood can lead to health-related issues, there are still several far more significant benefits, including financial sustainability and enriched upbringing. Therefore, I firmly believe that the advantages of this phenomenon outweigh the disadvantages.