Some people claim that climate change is the most significant global issue today while others say there are more immediate concerns. What's your opinion?

Some individuals suppose that the most serious global problem nowadays is climate change, while others believe that there are more important issues. In this essay, I would like to discuss both views to justify my opinion that climate change is a big problem, but others also deserve equal attention.

First, it is often true that climate change threatens the future of our planet. It causes the average temperature to rise, therefore affecting many aspects of nature. Melted ice from the polar regions makes the water level increase, submerging many seaside cities. Extreme weather conditions, such as hurricanes and tornadoes, happen more frequently, damaging residential areas. Rising temperature also leads to fires, destroying the natural habitat of many species. The effects of global warming are permanent and could make some parts of the world uninhabitable. For instance, in 50 years, the water level can increase to a point that Ho Chi Minh City will no longer be seen on maps if no action is taken soon. Therefore, tackling the environmental problems is not only about protecting our nature but also our human civilization.

Despite these arguments, some believe that we shouldn’t just look at one problem only; there are others that are present and affect millions, or even billions, of people. For example, food shortages and the lack of fresh water in Africa are threatening the lives of many residents, mostly women and children in the area. It combines with poor healthcare and outdated medical facilities, making some preventable diseases deadly. In these cases, we should prioritize solving them, even if we focus on long-term environmental goals.

In conclusion, despite being the problem that most people are aware of, climate change should not be our only focus. A balanced approach is needed as governments and international organizations must deal with climate change while also addressing the immediate needs of vulnerable populations.