Some people dislike changes in their society and in their own lives, and want things to stay the same. Why do some people want things to stay the same? Why should change be regarded as something positive? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Life is a one way trip. Everything in it is moving forward in a direct path. Some people, especially when they reach a certain level of stablity in their life, wish changes to happen slowly or to not happen at all. Unfortunately, this is not how life works.

Change is a part of human evolving process; it is the product of the daily learning and improvements; our strive for crossing the bounderies to where our pioneer minds could lead us. However, some people may prefer to stay put and not to endure such process. This attitude could be linked to emotional reasons. For example, a person might not want a cerain mall to be reinnovated as he or she is used to shop frequently in the same place to a level that it has become part of their habit, and such a change in a habit would be a hassle for them to cope up with. Other people, especially parents, may want their children not to embrace the new generation’s culture since it is contridicting theirs.

I personally sometimes don’t like changes to take place. For instance, I like video games since my childhood, especially a series called “Assassin’s Creed”. The game started with a specific mechanics of stealth and grinding. Recently, developers changed these mechanics, and removed stealth from the game, which caused me to miss that experience I used to feel back when the series started when I was a teenager. To recall that feeling, I would have to bring my old gaming console and play the old game, missing out the new technology and features. In my case, the longing for nostalgia barred me from accepting the change.

However, as I mentioned earlier, change is part of life, and it is good for human nature. If our ancestors have rejected to change, we would have still been living in caves. Thanks to the development and changes in life, newer generations are always finding themselves living a better life than their parents. For me, although new mechanics in the game were different form the ones I initially liked, but the new game has introduced to me a new aspect to the story; I had to pursue different challenges and play the game on higher graphics, which are good to endure different experience that ones I had when I was younger.