Some people feel that courses can make anyone a teacher, while others feel an excellent teacher cannot be made by pursuing a course. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some share the view that becoming a teacher is as easy as completing a course while others argue that there is more to becoming an ideal teacher. Even though there is some truth to the former assertion, I strongly agree with the latter.

On the one hand, some argue that acquiring a degree in teaching is sufficient for becoming a teacher. They feel that a university degree equips the individual with prerequisite knowledge needed to teach their subject. Having learnt the relevant theories and concepts, one can impart this knowledge to other people. Take Math as an example. One can teach other people Math principles and how to solve problems as long as they possess a technical understanding of this field. They also propose that teaching is easier than other professions as it requires a limited range of skills. In their mind, teaching entails merely sharing information presented in a textbook while more demanding jobs such as treating patients requires a wide array of skills as well as extensive practice, making the former a more accessible job.

I, however, subscribe to the idea that teaching is a multi-faceted profession, which cannot simply be acquired by pursing a course. This is because a well-rounded teacher should exhibit a range of personal traits in addition to technical knowledge. Qualities such as patience, empathy, being approachable and having a passion for one’s subject matter are critical to facilitating an optional learning experience. One other essential feature of a good teacher is experience. Experience can only be built through practice and learning in the classroom. These qualities of a teacher cannot be learnt through a formal education.

In conclusion, while completing a course can provide one with the qualifications needed for teaching, I believe it does not make for an ideal teacher as one’s personal qualities and experience are equally important in this regard.