some people feel that equality between the genders has already been achieved while other feel there is considerable progress to be made Discuss both vews and give you own opinion?

In recent years, there has been a significant increase in the number of individuals contemplating of whether discrimination between the genders is still a severe problem. On the one hand, there are those who argue that gender equality is no longer prevalent issue in many societies. However, critics, including myself, strongly oppose this view and instead believe that there are still actions to be taken in order to hinder discrimination.

First there is a point to be made that numerous global companies have been valuing women’s right in the workplace for over ten years. For example, in the Netherlands, many companies implement diversity equality and inclusivity policies in their company in order to prevent glass ceiling, which results in an increasing the number of women who are being promoted to important positions such as CFO, CEO and CHRO. For this reason, it is evident that women employees can be easily promoted by employers if they have adequate qualification for the role. A vast majority of companies may have learned lessons from the past; as a result, they have tried to increase awareness of importance of equality between women and men in the work environment. Moreover, women and men have equal rights under the law in many societies. Therefore, laws have not provided any privileges to men for a long time. This being the case if every person prioritized equality, gender-based discrimination would eradicated.

Nonetheless, it must be stated that a myriad of societies still grapple with discrimination, especially in developing and underdeveloped countries. For example, in Turkey, the proportion of femicide has risen exponentially for five years due to government policy. Therefore, it is clear that lack of intense legislation in developing and undeveloped countries, women are still abused, mistreated by men. Furthermore, most parents send their boys to the school, while girls are deprived of education. Therefore, they do not work and earn money, which lead to becoming more dependent on men. With this mind, if government enacted strict rules to protect women’s right, the gender discrimination would be faded away.

To conclude, while some feel that gender-based discrimination problem has been overcome, others, myself included, firmly believe the opposite. From my perspective, gender-based discrimination is still problem and precautions should be taken urgently by governments.