Some people feel that manufacturers and supermarkets have the responsibility to reduce the amount of packaging of goods. While others argue that customers should avoid buying goods with a lot of packaging. Discuss both views and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

While some people contend that reducing the quantity of goods packaging is the responsibility of producers and supermarkets, others argue that it is necessary for customers to limit buying products with lots of packaging. In this essay, I will examine both perspectives before proposing my own view.

On the one hand, there is no doubt that manufacturers and supermarkets have the main role in deciding the amount of packaging in goods and importing these with more or less wrapping. To begin with, the producers have the decisive power in the wrapping process, like choosing packaging materials or the weight of the packaging. In fact, most goods are wrapped from plastics, which is one of the leading culprits of environmental issues. Therefore, it is important for manufacturers to switch into recyclable or biodegradable materials as a way to curb the amount of harmful packaging. Furthermore, supermarkets can encourage consumers to bring their own large bags to hold items as much as possible instead of using single- plastic bags. For instance, retailers can offer discounts when customers use their own bags to carry groceries.

On the other hand, individuals also have the accountability to reduce the amount of packaging of goods by limiting buying items with a lot of packaging. First and foremost, people should decline the consumption of products that are non- biodegradable materials. By criticizing certain goods from companies who prioritise using plastics to wrap products, wise consumers can put pressure on these firms to change their attitudes toward positive shopping habits. At the same time, each individual has the responsibility to opt for more environmentally- friendly packaging goods. Take Vietnamese youngsters as an example, they have created packaging from natural materials, such as bamboo bags or paper packaging, which has received positive responses from the public. This initiative might contribute to the decline of consumption of plastic packaging.

In conclusion, although manufacturers and supermarkets take on the main role in curbing the amount of packaging goods, individuals also hold the responsibility to avoid buying products with lots of single- plastic items. I believe that both stakeholders should share accountability to achieve the best outcome