Some people get into debt by buying things they don't need and can't afford. What are the reasons for this behaviour? What action can be taken to prevent people from having this problem?

Some individuals purchase an item which is not needed or is non-affordable, ultimately leading them into debt. The reasons for this behavior are the desire to be inclusive and to show their standard in the society. The action that can be taken to prevent this is providing a status to an individual based on the wisdom rather than the wealth.

People spend their income on un-necessary goods to be a part of the society. This is because in a community, the level of a person is judged based on their earnings. If an individual cannot afford an item, neighbors think the particular person is not capable of standing together with them, and his opinions and decisions are often neglected. Similarly, some rich people want to show their level of richness by purchasing an expensive or a luxurious thing. They want others to know about their standard and capability. For instance, Josh Williams, a well-known researcher from the USA, conducted a research on the usefulness of a product bought by millionaires. He prepared a questionnaire including the questions such as ‘What was the purpose of buying the product?’, ‘How often they use it?’ ,’Was it needed?’, and so on. At the end, he came to a conclusion that about 70% bought the product that was not needed and purchased only to show-off.

The society members should judge a person on the basis of the knowledge and skills compared to a money. When a community treat everyone equally and respect an individual based on their educational or vocational capability, no one will feel pressurized to buy a stuff that they cannot afford. This will eventually help a person live a happy and respectful life.

In conclusion, some people buy un-necessary and non-affordable items to be able to maintain their status or to show their level of richness in a community. The primary solution is to respect a person based on their intellectual capability compared to an economic capacity.