Some people prefer to provide help and support directly to those in need. Others however prefer to give money to national and international charitable organisations. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is open to question whether people should make direct donations to the needy or resort to charitable campaigns spearheaded by famous people. This essay will discuss both views before arguing in favour of the former.

On the one hand, proponents of the former argue that it could be more trusting to provide help and support directly on their own. This is because there have been a multitude of cases in which charitable organizations that act as intermediaries take advantage of the money or goods donated for fradulent purposes, which causes both property loss and mental distress to the victims. Furthermore, it is evident that it takes far less time to provide help and support directly to those in need than donate money to celebrities. Particularly, celebrities need to spend a certain time on calling for help and donations from citizens and wait for the amount of money or goods reach the expected target before transferring it to the needy, while when people act alone, they could make decisions and take actions more proactively to supply people with help as soon as possible.

On the other hand, supporters of the notion that giving money to charitable organizations launched by famous people is advisable believe that it is more convenient to make donations through these go-betweens. Should people do not have enough time or be beyond geographical location of the needy areas, they can give money to celebrities whose organizations could ensure that they meet all the requirements to directly support the needy. Moreover, celebrities often act as a source of inspiration and have a huge influence on people’s attitudes and behavior. By appealing for help and financial donations for the disadvantaged, they can increase public’s awareness on the issue, encourage people all over the country to take part and thus boosting much more donations.

Even though both methods have certain benefits, I advocate the idea of directly supporting the needy, as a transparent and faster response is of paramount importance irrespective of the level of competence in the event of emergency.

In conclusion, whist making direct donations to the people who need them avoids charity scams and takes less time, handing in money to charities led by influencers is convenient and makes a more remarkable effect.