Some people prefer to provide help and support directly to those in need. Others however prefer to give money to national and international charitable organisations. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

While some people would rather help others who are in need personally, other people would prefer to donate to charitable organizations either national or international. I am of the opinion that providing help in person does more good than charitable giving.

Those who are in favor of giving money to charities claim that these foundations are accountable and inclusive. When a benefactor donates money to these institutions, he or she feels contentment as they inform the donor regularly via annual reports and they are convinced that their donation is used for a good reason. Another point is that as governmental or non-governmental organizations have the leverage of fundraising, they raise more monetary resources and that is why their contribution and support reach vulnerable groups as well. For instance, relief organizations such as Red Cross instantly transfer equipment, food or shelter to those affected by natural disasters, which makes charities effective.

There are also others, however, asserting that direct help is much more efficient than helping by means of charities. They maintain that helping directly solves daily problems such as providing food, shelter or giving away money in no time. Take a neighbour who cannot make ends meet as an example, charities would fail to reach them as they may not resort to organizations, however, a friend or another neighbour would heal his or her wounds with just a bowl of soup. Moreover, providing one-to-one support contributes to building a strong sense of community as folks are aware of these remedies and they feel proud during hard times.

All this considered, although philanthropic giving may be helpful in some occasions, helping personally resolves more problems. Thus, although people can donate to charities, the help should begin by our inner circle