Some people regard eating meat as completely wrong. To what extent do you agree?

It is considered that having meat is something that people must not do. I completely agree with this statement. I will discuss the reason behind my full agreement in the following paragraphs.

One of the most controversial issues of recent years has been the increase in the number of health scares related to the food industry. One example in the UK was Mad Cow Disease and there are many others which we are less aware of these are obvious reasons to avoid meat. Furthermore, the health benefits of vegetarianism include lower risks of heart disease and cancers such as colon cancer. The risk of obesity and high blood pressure is also reduced. In addition to the health issues, many people choose vegetarianism because they feel that we should treat animals in a human way. A few religions, including Hindi religion and Buddhism, have teachings on the humane treatment of animals or strict rules about diet. Some people say that animals have rights, and we shouldn’t make them suffer. As a result, it is not only good for human as well as for animals because they also feel pain like a human. So, people should not eat animals.

Another reason for the increase in vegetarianism is a greater awareness of our impact on the environment. A well-documented problem is the global destruction of forests to provide pasture for meat production. Also, it is argued that raising animals for food is an inefficient way to feed the world population. For example, research shows that one acre of pasture produces approximately 165 pounds of beef, compared to 20,000 pounds of potatoes.

In conclusion, modern ideas about heath, environmental concerns and the ethical treatment of animals have persuaded an increasing number of people in recent years to tum away from a meat-based diet.